The Scholarship Guide to Staying Alive

Prompt: The trend, create a new one that others begin to follow.

They say that the eyes are the windows to the soul.  If that’s true, then I would think green pupils symbolized mystery, knowing a secret that no one else does; brown eyes could mean warmth and kindness; and blue eyes would stand for innocence and purity, much like the water they resemble.  But it’s not true.  How do I know? Because Julia David’s blue eyes pierce me everyday, and if they resemble water, her’s are seriously polluted.

I noticed this pollution the first time I set foot in Emerson’s school for Women.  Well, not at first, at first the only thing I noticed was the cold globs of milkshake running down my face, thrown at me from the 3rd floor balcony.  Her aim was the second thing I noticed because she had thrown it.

Julia David had started the trend of hating scholarship students, those of us who aren’t rich, but can still come to this prestigious school because of our academic abilities.  This all started when a scholarship student out-shined Julia at homecoming 2 years ago.  But why does she have to take that out on me?  In my four months of being an Emerson girl. I have had my shampoo switched for hair removal cream (don’t worry, I smelled it before it caused any damage), spiders put into my closet, and multiple untrue rumors spread around school.  When I confronted Julia, she just glared and whispered, “you just made it worse” and threw yourself on the ground and started screaming, landing me in detention for “beating her up.”  (See what I mean by untrue?)

All this bullying led me to a revelation.  I would make a handbook for all scholarship students filled with do’s and dont’s about Julia David’s little “trend.”  Maybe this book will become a trend too, passed down from one scholarship student to another, eventually becoming the scholarship bible.  So sit back, relax (but not too much, always watch your back) and take a page out of my book.  Wish me luck, I’m going to need it and so are you!

This entry was posted in Short Story. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

